About the Attorney General

The Colorado Attorney General is one of four independently elected statewide offices in Colorado and was established by the state constitution upon statehood in 1876.

John W. Suthers

The Attorney General and the Department of Law, which Attorney General John W. Suthers oversees (collectively referred to as the Colorado Attorney General’s Office or AGO), represents and defends the legal interests of the people of the State of Colorado and its sovereignty. The Attorney General exercises the responsibilities given to his office by the Colorado Constitution, statutes enacted by the Colorado General Assembly and the people of the state of Colorado, and the common law.

The Attorney General has primary authority for enforcement of consumer protection and antitrust laws, prosecution of criminal appeals and some complex white-collar crimes, the Statewide Grand Jury, training and certification of peace officers, and certain natural resource and environmental matters.

The Attorney General’s Office also works concurrently with Colorado’s 22 district attorneys and other local, state and federal law enforcement authorities to carry out the criminal justice responsibilities and activities of the office.

The Attorney General is also the chief legal counsel and advisor to the executive branch of state government including the governor, except as otherwise provided by statute, all of the departments of state government, and to the many state agencies, boards, and commissions.

More information about the AGO:


Notice of Department of Law Address Change



Find Colorado State Attorney General on TwitterFind Colorado State Attorney General on FacebookColorado State Attorney General RSS feed