The Firearms Instructor class is designed to develop instructors to teach in a law enforcement agency firearm program and can lead to certification for Academy training if the participant also completes the required POST Train the Trainer 40 Hour Course. The Firearms instructor course follows the POST firearms curriculum, available at https://www.coloradoattorneygeneral.gov/sites/default/files/post/2013_Manual.pdf. The class focuses on preparing an agency instructor to coach shooters to become proficient with firearms and is not a remedial training course for poor shooters. POST currently requires that all students must qualify on the first day of class with a 100% score.
Lead instructors are members of the POST Firearms SME committee and are highly skilled firearms trainers. The Firearms Instructor Course is offered throughout Colorado to Colorado law enforcement officers, and may be requested by regional coordinators or their designees. The class is funded through a grant to CLEAT (a partnership of CSOC and CACP) from Colorado POST and is open to both certified and sworn officers and deputies currently employed by a Colorado law enforcement agency. Although it is free to individual students, CLEAT has committed a substantial amount of the grant to bring the class to your area. If you cannot attend, please use the disenroll link on your confirmation email to withdraw at least 5 business days before the first day of class. Failure to show for the class will result in a $200.00 charge payable to Colorado POST.
Within 5 business days of enrollment, each participant must submit a letter addressed to County Sheriffs of Colorado, attention Training, from his/her agency confirming that the agency supports and approves of the participant’s registration in the class. The approval also can be emailed to Janet Larson, firstname.lastname@example.org.
Each participant must also furnish a semi-auto pistol with 3 magazines (service weapon), 600 rounds of ammo and 15 rounds of green or orange dummy rounds for service handgun, protective eyeglasses, ear protectors, standard uniformed duty leather gear including a holster for the service weapon, a flashlight, cuffs, and clothing appropriate for classroom and outdoor range training. There will be a dim light shooting class one evening which will require clear eye protection. Classroom materials will be provided by CLEAT.
Any safety violations will result in immediate dismissal from class.
Class size limited to number of shooting positions on host range
Training Location: Boulder Police Department
1805 33rd St.
Date: 1/27/2014 - 1/31/2014
Click here to register