Attorney General Suthers Announces $800,000 In P.O.S.T. Board Grants To Colorado Police Training Programs

DENVER – Attorney General John Suthers today announced grants totaling $800,000 will be awarded to police officer training programs throughout Colorado. The grants were approved today at a Peace Officer Standards and Training (P.O.S.T.) Board meeting. Attorney General Suthers chairs the P.O.S.T. Board.

“These funds provide critical training to Colorado’s peace officers,” said Suthers. “Last year alone, over 6,400 officers attended more than 96,000 hours of training through this grant program.”

Each region of the State has training representatives who meet to discuss their training needs. Applications for grant funds are then submitted to the P.O.S.T. Board.

“Colorado is at the forefront of developing training based upon local needs,” said P.O.S.T. executive director John Kammerzell. “Trained representatives from across Colorado meet to discuss and choose programs that will help their local officers. The training needs in Sterling, for example, can be very different from the training needs in Denver.”

The following grants were approved and will be distributed on July 1, 2006:

Colorado Law Enforcement Associations Training Program: $149,500
Colorado District Attorneys Council: $78,000
Colorado Organization of Victims Advocates: $13,750
Colorado Regional Community Policing Institute: $9,200
Central Mountain Region: $100,000
Greater Metro Region: $100,000
I-70 West: $54,000
North Central: $67,000
Northeast Region: $38,000
Northwest Region: $32,550
San Luis Valley: $15,000
Southeast Region: $40,000
Southwest Region: $53,000
West Central Region: $50,000

The P.O.S.T. Board meets quarterly and is comprised of twenty members, including the Attorney General, the director of the Department of Public Safety, the FBI Special Agent in Charge of the Denver Region, six chiefs of police, six sheriffs, three law enforcement officers, a member of local government and a private citizen.

The grant funds are generated through at .25 cent fee assessed on motor vehicle registration.

Identity Theft

Connect

Find Colorado State Attorney General on TwitterFind Colorado State Attorney General on FacebookColorado State Attorney General RSS feed