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MEMORANDUM

TO: Sales Finance Companies

FROM: Uniform Consumer Credit Code (“UCCC”)
Telephone: (720) 508-6012

E-Mail: uccc@coag.gov

RE: SALES FINANCE NOTIFICATION FILING & FEE

Sales finance companies that regularly collect consumer credit contracts must annually file
and pay UCCC notification. [5-6-201, 5-6-202, & 5-6-203, C.R.S.]

A consumer credit sale or lease contract involves you and an individual person, rather than
an organization; is primarily for personal, family, or household purpose; the debt is created
by written agreement and includes a finance charge or interest or that has 5 or more
installments; and with respect to a sale of goods or services, the amount does not exceed
$75,000. [5-1-301(11) & (14), C.R.S.]

You are required by law to file the enclosed UCCC notification form and pay a $130.00
notification fee plus volume fees if you take assignment of, purchase, or service Colorado
consumer credit sales or consumer leases and directly collect payments from or enforce rights
against debtors arising from these consumer credit transactions.

You are required by law to file the UCCC notification form and pay the notification fee plus
applicable volume fees within 30 days after commencing business in Colorado and
thereafter, on or before January 31 of each year.

If you are required to file notification and fail to do so, consumers have no legal
obligation to pay any of the finance charges due under the credit transactions.

The volume fee for 2016 is $20 for each $100,000. A volume fee is required for each
$100,000, or part thereof, of the unpaid balances of each consumer credit sale or lease at the
time it was taken by assignment in calendar year 2015. Please ensure any part of
$100,000 is rounded up to avoid miscalculation of volume fees.

Example: $1,500,370 total volume in 2015. (Round up to nearest $100,000 = $1,600,000)
$1,600,000 / $100,000 = 16 x $20 volume fee = $320 in total volume fees.


mailto:uccc@coag.gov

Page 2

In addition to the notification form, you must also complete and return the following:
e List of Assignors;
¢ Contact Information List; and
e  Ownership — Collection Activity Questionnaire

Payment of $130 plus volume fees is due within 30 days of commencing business.

If a complete notification and fee payment are not received within 30 days of commencing
business, a late payment fee of $5.00 per calendar day is imposed starting the 31st day of
business. This fee will continue to accrue until your notification is properly filed and all fees
due are received.

Sole Proprietors and Individual Registrants must also provide a photocopy of your
driver’s license, state identification card, or other photo identification.

Please complete and return the forms to:

Colorado Department of Law

Consumer Protection Section, Uniform Consumer Credit Code
Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center

1300 Broadway, 6th Floor

Denver, CO 80203

Fees may be paid by paper check made out to the Colorado Uniform Consumer Credit Code
and enclosed with your completed notification form.

The notification form is not a license and you will not receive a certificate.
Please note that if you make, service, or take assignment of supervised loans (direct loans

in excess of 12% APR), you must obtain a supervised lender’s license. Applications are
available at www.coag.gov/ucce/licensing.

Sales finance companies are subject to periodic compliance examinations pursuant to
Section 5-6-203, C.R.S.

Statutory References: Sections 5-1-301(11), (14), (17) & (42) & 5-6-201 through 5-6-203, C.R.S.
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