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M E M O R A N D U M  

TO: Supervised Lender Applicant 

FROM: Colorado Uniform Consumer Credit Code (“UCCC”) 
Phone: (720) 508-6010 
Fax: (720) 508-6033 
E-mail: uccc@coag.gov 

RE: UCCC Supervised Lender Licensing Requirements 

Supervised Loans 
A Colorado supervised lender’s license is required to engage in the business of supervised 
loans.  A supervised loan is a consumer loan with an annual percentage rate greater than 
12% per year, or for an adjustable rate loan, has a maximum cap that could exceed 12% 
per year [UCCC § 5-1-301(47)].  Consumer loans include both secured and unsecured 
consumer loans; deferred deposit loans (also known as payday loans, post-dated check 
cashing, and/or deferred deposit lending); small installment loans; credit cards; consumer 
insurance premium financing; and the real estate secured loans described below.  A 
license is needed if you regularly: 
 

• make supervised loans, 
• collect supervised loans the lender previously made, 
• service, take assignment of, or purchase supervised loans and collect or enforce 

rights arising from them,1 or 
• engage in deferred deposit loans, offer these loans, or act as an agent for a third 

party making these loans (even if the loans are approved by a third party and 
that third party is exempt from licensing), in addition to the above activities. 

 
Mortgage Loan Originator Licenses 
Individuals who take a residential mortgage loan application or offer or negotiate terms of 
a residential mortgage loan must obtain a mortgage loan originator license from the 
Colorado Division of Real Estate at www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/division-real-estate.  
This is separate from the supervised lender license required for mortgage companies 
making supervised loans, and may apply to a mortgage company’s employees. 

                                                 
1  If the supervised loans you service, purchase, or take assignment of are in default when you obtain 
them, you may also need a collection agency license.  Contact (720) 508-6020 for more information. 

mailto:uccc@coag.gov
http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/division-real-estate
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Compliance Exams 
Licensed supervised lenders are subject to periodic unannounced compliance 
examinations.  Reasonable working accommodations and access to all of the lender’s books 
and records must be provided at that time.  A lender must keep and maintain records to 
establish that it is complying with the UCCC.  Records must be retained for 4 years after 
the last entry is made on the loan.  Failure to maintain or produce records for compliance 
examinations may subject the lender to discipline including penalties of $200 per day.  
Licensed supervised lenders must also file an annual statistical report and proof of 
financial responsibility each June 1, respond to consumer complaints, and pay license 
renewal fees each January 31. 
 
Master and Branch Licenses 
A separate license is needed for each location where the lender engages in supervised 
lending.  Once one supervised lender’s license has been issued (the master license), 
subsequent applications are for branch licenses.  The master license may, but need not, be 
the headquarters location.  The contact persons and addresses provided within the master 
license application will be used for all licensed locations. Contact this office for a branch 
license application or obtain it at www.coag.gov/uccc. 
 
General Information 
A supervised lender cannot regularly engage in supervised lending until it has obtained a 
supervised lender’s license.  A lender may only use the name(s) appearing on the 
supervised lender license.  Your application should therefore include all legal and trade 
names used in the lending business.  It may take 60 days to issue a new license after a 
completed application is received.  Branch license locations may automatically operate for 
up to 120 days after a completed branch application is received until the application is 
approved or denied. 
 
Failure to obtain a required supervised lender’s license or comply with all regulatory 
requirements may result in legal or disciplinary action including license revocation, 
injunctions, civil penalties, and forfeiture of excess charges.  In addition, the lender may 
be subject to criminal liability. 
 
All consumer lenders must comply with the Colorado UCCC and the federal Truth in 
Lending Act and Regulation Z.  Some of the regulatory provisions of the UCCC include 
disclosure of the cost of credit (annual percentage rate, amount financed, total of 
payments, etc.) and compliance with the provisions on default including right to cure, 
delinquency charges, deferral, refinancing, prohibitions on prepayment penalties, and 
record retention requirements.  You are advised to contact an attorney to ensure you are 
in compliance with all legal requirements. 
 
Copies of the Colorado UCCC and Rules may be obtained from our website at 
www.coag.gov/uccc.   
 
Copies of the Truth in Lending Act and Regulation Z are available at www.ftc.gov. 
 
 
 
 

http://www.coag.gov/uccc
http://www.coag.gov/uccc
http://www.ftc.gov/
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COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF LAW 
Consumer Protection Section, Uniform Consumer Credit Code 

Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center 
1300 Broadway, 6th Floor 

Denver, CO  80203 
Telephone: (720) 508-6010 

Fax: (720) 508-6033 
E-mail: uccc@coag.gov 

 
COLORADO SUPERVISED LENDER'S LICENSE APPLICATION 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 
File the enclosed application form and all attachments listed below for the initial Colorado 
supervised lender's license.  Do not file incomplete applications.  A supervised lender's license 
may only be issued if the applicant and its principals exhibit sufficient financial responsibility, 
character, and fitness to ensure that the applicant will operate fairly and honestly.   
 
A. APPLICATION – all applicants complete the supervised lender license application and 

the following, as applicable: 
B. CORPORATIONS – attach a copy of the Certificate of Authority or Good Standing 

from the Colorado Secretary of State, or application therefore containing the filing date 
and account number. Lenders licensing out-of-state offices may substitute similar 
certificates from the state in which the loan office is located. Contact the Colorado 
Secretary of State at (303) 894-2200, or view www.sos.state.co.us. 

C. PARTNERSHIPS – attach a copy of the Partnership Agreement. A limited partnership 
must also submit a copy of the recorded certificate filed with the Colorado Secretary of 
State as required by §7-61-103, C.R.S. 

D. LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANIES – attach a copy of the Certificate of 
Organization from the Colorado Secretary of State.  Lenders licensing out-of-state offices 
may substitute similar certificates from the state in which the LLC is organized. 

E. DBA, TRADE, OR ASSUMED NAMES – applicants using trade names attach a copy 
of a properly filed trade name affidavit showing the trade/assumed name from the 
Colorado Secretary of State.  Contact the Colorado Secretary of State at (303) 894-2200, 
or view www.sos.state.co.us. Lenders licensing out-of-state offices may substitute similar 
trade name approval from the state where the business is located.   

F. FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY – all applicants must provide a surety bond or other 
financial responsibility per license. The amount is adjusted each June 1 based on the total 
Colorado loan volume for the prior calendar year.  The amounts required are: 
Annual Colorado Loan Volume Financial Responsibility Needed 
$0 to $500,000 $15,000 
Over $500,000 to $1 million $20,000 
Over $1 million $25,000 

To avoid annual adjustments, provide $25,000 for each licensed location.  There is a 
maximum cap of $250,000 for all locations so lenders with multiple locations may wish 
to file proof of $250,000 at the outset.  Acceptable forms of financial responsibility are:  
(1) an original surety bond (form attached), (2) a cash assignment (form attached), or (3) 
a letter of credit.  The letter of credit must be irrevocable with no conditions; issued by a 
state or national bank or savings and loan doing business in Colorado; state the dollar 
amount; name the UCCC Administrator as beneficiary in favor of the people of the State 

mailto:uccc@coag.gov
http://www.sos.state.co.us/
http://www.sos.state.co.us/
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of Colorado; and shall remain in place for two years after the license is surrendered, 
revoked, or expires.  See UCCC Rule 9(b) for additional information. 

G. PERSONAL AFFIDAVITS – all applicants attach a personal affidavit for each 
individual owner, member, partner, and primary corporate executive officer.  One blank 
copy is enclosed.  Make extra copies as needed. 

H. BRANCH OFFICES – additional offices or locations of the same lender require 
separate licenses.  File a branch office application form for each of these locations.  The 
branch application is available on our website at www.coag.gov/uccc.  When a completed 
branch application is received, the branch is automatically licensed for up to 120 days 
while the application is reviewed for approval or denial.  We may conduct compliance 
examinations on existing locations prior to approval of branch applications.  Unresolved 
compliance examinations of existing locations may effect approval. 

I. LICENSE VERIFICATIONS – an applicant licensed by other state agencies must, for 
its initial license only, complete the top of the attached license verification form and mail 
it to all of these agencies.  Attach copies of all verification forms you mailed to these 
states with your application so we may track receipt of these forms.  Regulatory agencies 
should mail the completed form directly to the UCCC. 

J. LICENSE FEES – the initial/master license fee is $850 payable to the Colorado 
Uniform Consumer Credit Code (this includes a $100 surcharge for the Identity Theft and 
Financial Fraud Cash Fund required by section 24-33.5-1707(2)(b), C.R.S.).  Do not 
send any fees until you are notified that your application is complete.  License fee 
amounts are subject to change periodically due to state budget requirements.  Licenses 
are subject to renewal each January 31.  Licenses are not reissued each year; the original 
license is perpetual and is renewed by payment of the appropriate fee. 

K. COMPLETION OF APPLICATION - an application is not “complete” unless all items 
listed above have been filed (not including regulatory agency responses to license 
verification forms and license fee).  If we advise you the application is incomplete, you 
will have 45 days to complete the application. 

L. SOLE PROPRIETORS – applicants that are sole proprietors/natural persons must 
complete an affidavit of citizenship/legal residency, available on our website at 
www.coag.gov/uccc as well as provide a copy of one of the approved types of verifiable 
identification.  If you are unable to provide one of the verifiable forms of identification, a 
waiver may be requested through the Colorado Department of Revenue. Please visit 
www.colorado.gov/pacific/revenue/hb06s-1023 for more information. 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.coag.gov/uccc
http://www.coag.gov/uccc
http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/revenue/hb06s-1023
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COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF LAW 
Consumer Protection Section, Uniform Consumer Credit Code 

Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center 
1300 Broadway, 6th Floor 

Denver, CO  80203 
Telephone: (720) 508-6010 

Fax: (720) 508-6033 
Email: uccc@coag.gov  

 
COLORADO SUPERVISED LENDER'S LICENSE APPLICATION 

 
 

1. Legal name of applicant (corporation, LLC, partnership, or proprietor’s name). 

  

2. Trade or assumed name(s) used in supervised lending (if different from above)(see instruction #E). 

  

3. Address of initial location to be licensed 

  
 (Street Address)    

    
 (City) (State) (Zip Code) 

 Telephone #   Fax # (if available)  

 800 # (if available)   

 Website address (if applicable)  

4. Contact information – provide the name, mailing address, phone number and email address for each of 
the following categories: 

  

General Mailings: 
  

  

 Compliance/Examination Reports: 

  

  

 Complaints: 

  

  
  

mailto:uccc@coag.gov
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5. Type(s) of activity you expect to engage in.  Check all that apply: 

 _____ Make (i.e. originate) _____ Take assignment of or purchase for collection, 
servicing, or enforcement purposes 

  Check all applicable categories: 

   Deferred deposit loans or payday loans 

   Unsecured loans or loans secured by personal property and/or autos 

   Mortgage loans 

   Loans secured by mobile homes 

   Insurance premium finance loans 

   Credit cards 

   Small installment loans of $1,000 or less (per section 5-2-214, C.R.S.) 

   Retail sales installment contracts (credit sales) or consumer leases 

   Pawn transactions (contracts for purchase) 

   Service loans originated by supervised financial organizations (banks)  

 
 (see section 5-1-301(45), C.R.S.) 

6. CORPORATIONS or LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANIES  (see Instructions #B & #D) 

 Incorporated or Organized in the State of  

 Date of Incorporation or Organization  

 Colorado Registered Agent for Service of Process (required) 

 Name  

   CO  

 
(Street) (City)  (Zip Code) 

 PRIMARY OFFICERS or MEMBERS  (add additional list if necessary) 

 President  

 Vice President  

 Secretary  

 Treasurer  

7. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Provide the names of the stockholders of the corporation of the members of the limited liability 
company and the percentage of each stockholder’s or member’s ownership interest. For 
corporations: If publicly traded, list all entities holding 10% or more of the stock: If privately held, 
the number of shares must equal 100% of the stock. (Attach additional pages if necessary) 

Name                                                                                     % of Stock or Member Ownership 

________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________ 
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8. PARTNERSHIPS answer the following questions for each partner (see Instruction #C): 

 Date of formation  

 Place of formation  

 Type of partnership: General  Limited   

 PARTNERS, both General and Limited (add additional list if necessary) 

 NAME  

 NAME  

 NAME  

  

9. SOLE PROPRIETORSHIPS (see Instruction #L) 

 Name of Individual Proprietor  

  

 ALL APPLICANTS ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS 

10. Have any of the persons or organizations listed above been convicted of or entered a plea of guilty to 
theft, concealing stolen goods, forgery, fraud, offenses related to the Uniform Commercial Code or 
financial transaction devices, or any similar crime in any federal, state, or local jurisdiction?  
Yes _____ No _____ If yes, describe details below. 

  
  
  
11. Have any of the persons or organizations listed above been the subject of any administrative, 

disciplinary, or legal action by any federal, state, or local governmental entity, whether or not a final 
order or judgment was entered, including denial, revocation, or suspension of a license; fines or 
penalties; or any other adverse action?     Yes _____  No _____  If yes, describe details below. 

  
  
12. Are any of the persons or organizations listed above now subject to any pending administrative, 

disciplinary, or legal action by any federal, state, or local governmental entity concerning any 
business activity in which applicant is or has been engaged?     Yes _____  No ______  If yes, 
describe details below. 

  
  
  
13. List all state, federal, or local regulatory authorities which now or in the past, license or register any 

of the persons or organizations listed above as a lender, mortgage broker, deferred deposit lender, 
financial institution, or other professional licensed occupation.  (attach additional sheets if necessary) (see 
Instruction #J). 

 Regulatory Agency Name  

 Regulatory Agency Address  

 Type of License/Registration and # (if applicable)  

 Date first licensed/registered   
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14. Has the applicant ever filed for bankruptcy or had a federal or state tax lien filed against it in the last 
ten years?     Yes _____  No _____  If yes, describe details below. 

  
  
Statements made herein are made under oath.  False statements may be punishable as second degree 
perjury. 

  
Print Name Title 

  
Signature Date 

  
Print Name Title 

  
Signature Date 

Corporations should affix corporate Seal and the signatures of the President or other authorized official of the 
corporation. 

Partners must sign individually or in accordance with the Partnership Agreement. 
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COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF LAW 
Consumer Protection Section, Uniform Consumer Credit Code 

Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center 
1300 Broadway, 6th Floor 

Denver, CO  80203 
Telephone: (720) 508-6010 

Fax: (720) 508-6033 
Email: uccc@coag.gov  

PERSONAL AFFIDAVIT 
 
To be completed by each partner, individual owner, member, manager, or each primary corporate officer.  
A separate form is to be filed by each person. 
 
OMISSIONS MAY BE CONSTRUED AS INTENTIONAL FAILURE TO DISCLOSE A 
MATERIAL FACT AND MAY BE GROUNDS FOR REJECTION OF APPLICATION. 

 
SUPERVISED LENDER’S NAME (corporate, LLC, partnership, or proprietor’s name) 
 

1.  

 Name and title of partner, owner, member, manager, or officer filing this affidavit. 

The information requested in questions #2 and 3 is required by § § 14-14-113 and 24-31-107, C.R.S. 
and may be used to revoke, suspend, or deny licenses as determined by the state child support 
enforcement agency for noncompliance with support orders or subpoenas/warrants relating to 
paternity and child support. 

2. Home Address 
 

   

 (Street Address) (City) (State) (Zip Code) 

3. Date of Birth  Social Security No.  

4. Occupational Record.  Furnish a complete record of employment and business associations for 
the last ten years, including all companies in which you have or had an interest as an officer, 
director, or voting stockholder.  Account for all periods of time.  Periods of unemployment 
should be indicated and dates given. 

 DATES 
(month, year) 

EMPLOYER POSITION DUTIES 
(brief description) 

     
     
     
     
     
     

  

mailto:uccc@coag.gov
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5. Have you ever been directly or indirectly connected with any organization or business in 
Colorado or elsewhere, which had an application for license or registration for any business 
activity denied by any federal, state, or local governmental entity, or which withdrew such 
application to avoid a denial, or by request, or which had its license or registration suspended, 
canceled, revoked or subject to any other disciplinary action, whether or not a final order or 
judgment was entered?     Yes _____  No _____     If yes, furnish details. 

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
6. In the last 10 years, have you ever been, or has any organization or business with which you 

were associated as an officer, director, partner, owner, or otherwise, involved in any voluntary 
or involuntary bankruptcy, receivership, or insolvency proceedings?     Yes _____  No _____ 
If yes, furnish details. 

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
7. Have you ever been convicted of or entered a plea of guilty to theft, concealing stolen goods, 

forgery, fraud, offenses related to the Uniform Commercial Code or financial transaction 
devices, or any similar crime in any federal, state, or local jurisdiction?    Yes _____  No _____ 
If yes, describe details below. 
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8. In the last ten years, have you entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, or been convicted 
of, a felony or a misdemeanor other than a traffic violation and other than information listed in 
Question 7?     Yes _____  No _____     If yes, furnish details. 

  
  
  
  
  
9. Have you ever been held liable in any civil fraud action in any judicial or administrative 

proceeding by a federal, state, or local governmental entity?     Yes _____  No _____     If yes, 
furnish details. 

  
  
  
  
  
10. Is there now pending any criminal action by any federal, state, or local governmental entity 

charging you with having committed a felony or misdemeanor other than a traffic violation? 
Yes _____  No _____     If yes, furnish details. 

  
  
  
  
  
11. Is there now pending before any judicial or administrative agency of a federal, state, or local 

governmental entity any proceeding charging you with violation of credit, broker, or lending 
laws; fraud; misrepresentation; or other deceptive practices?     Yes _____  No _____     If yes, 
furnish details. 

  
  
  
  

Statements made herein are made under oath.  False statements may be punishable as second 
degree perjury. 
  
 Signature 

  
 

Date 
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 Surety Bond No. ____________ 
 

SURETY BOND - SUPERVISED LENDER 
 

Colorado Uniform Consumer Credit Code 
(§ § 5-2-302, 5-2-304, C.R.S. & UCCC Rule 9, 4 CCR 902-1) 

 
KNOW ALL PERSONS by these presents that ___________________________________________ 
                                                                                                  (applicant-licensee name) 
of _______________________________________________________________________________ 
             (principal address of applicant-licensee) 
as principal (hereinafter “licensee”) for the following location(s) _____________________________ 
_________________________________________________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________ and 
_______________________________________ (hereinafter “surety”), a surety duly licensed by the 
Commissioner of Insurance of the State of Colorado, as surety, of   
  
                                                                         (surety’s address) 
are held and firmly bound unto the Attorney General of the State of Colorado acting through the 
ADMINISTRATOR OF THE UNIFORM CONSUMER CREDIT CODE for use of the PEOPLE OF 
THE STATE OF COLORADO as obligee (hereinafter “UCCC Administrator”) in the sum of 
____________________________________________ thousand dollars ($_______________) lawful 
money of the United States for the payment of which, well and truly to be made, we bind ourselves, 
our heirs, executors, administrators, successors and assigns jointly, severally, and firmly by these 
presents. 
 
WHEREAS, licensee is applying to become or is a licensed supervised lender pursuant to § 5-2-302 
and 5-2-304, C.R.S. and seeks to establish, meet, and maintain the financial responsibility 
requirements of the UCCC Administrator during the term of the subject license by tender of the 
within bond, 

NOW, THEREFORE, the conditions of this bond are such that if the licensee shall comply with all 
provisions of the UCCC, and the rules and regulations lawfully adopted thereunder, during the term 
of the supervised lender license for which this bond is applicable, and shall pay any and all amounts 
which become due or owed to the UCCC Administrator thereunder, and shall pay any and all final 
judgments or orders that become lawfully due to or on behalf of any person who has prevailed in a 
UCCC cause of action against licensee, then this obligation is null and void, but otherwise to remain 
in full force and effect, 

PROVIDED that the surety’s aggregate liability for any and all claims which may arise under this 
bond shall in no event exceed the amount of this bond, regardless of the number of claims or 
claimants, and 

FURTHER PROVIDED that the surety shall have the right to terminate or reduce its liability 
hereunder only by giving the licensee and the UCCC Administrator written notice of such 
termination or reduction of liability, sent by Certified U.S. Mail to the UCCC Administrator, 
Consumer Protection Section, Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center, 1300 Broadway, 6th Floor, 
Denver, Colorado 80203 or the UCCC Administrator’s most current address.  Such termination or 
reduction of liability shall be effective from and after the expiration of 30 days from the receipt of 
such notice by the UCCC Administrator or on such later date as is stated in the notice; provided, 
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however, that no liability incurred while said bond is in force and prior to said effective date of 
termination or reduction of liability shall be released or reduced by giving such notice, and 

FURTHER PROVIDED, that after giving notice of termination or reduction of liability, the surety 
may reinstate or increase its liability by the execution and filing of a new bond or by mailing written 
notice to the UCCC Administrator indicating that the surety desires to continue as surety for the 
licensee and that its prior notice of termination or reduction of liability is withdrawn and rescinded. 

FURTHER PROVIDED that, if this bond is not previously terminated as set forth above, the liability 
of the surety shall expire two (2) years after the date of the surrender, revocation, or expiration of the 
subject license, whichever shall first occur. 

THIS BOND shall be effective on and after _____________________ (date) or, if left blank, the date 
of execution by surety shall be the effective date of the bond.  The bond shall be effective, if accepted 
by the UCCC Administrator, without further notice. 

WITNESS our hands and seals: 

LICENSEE OR APPLICANT: 

 
(Supervised Lender’s Name) 

[CORPORATE SEAL] 
                                                              By:  

(Signature) (Date) 

 
(Print Name) (Title) 
 

SURETY MUST ATTACH POWER OF ATTORNEY 
 
 
(Surety) 

[SURETY SEAL] 
 
(Signature) 
 
(Date) 
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COLORADO UNIFORM CONSUMER CREDIT CODE 

License Verification Form 
Applicant:  Complete the top part of this form and mail it to all states that license you as a lender, 
broker, or payday/deferred deposit lender.  Copy the form and use it as needed.  You do not need to 
mail it to states in which you are exempt from licensing/registration. 
State Regulator: Please complete the bottom part of this form and send it to: 

Colorado Department of Law 
Consumer Protection Section, UCCC 
Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center 
1300 Broadway, 6th Floor  
Denver, CO  80203 
Email: uccc@coag.gov 

   Fax: (720) 508-6033 
 

APPLICANT SECTION 
  Name and Principal Address of Applicant: Senior Officers, Owners, Partners, Manager’s Names: 

  
Trade Name(s) used in state in which you are licensed: State and License Number(s): Original License Date: 
   

Type of License:  
 

STATE REGULATOR SECTION 

  1. Is the above applicant licensed/regulated by your agency?  Yes _____  No _____ 

2. Is the information provided by applicant accurate?  Yes _____  No _____  Correct as needed. 

3. Have you examined applicant for state law compliance?  Yes _____  No _____ 

4. Are there any significant, unresolved examination issues?  Yes _____  (Provide details)    No _____ 

5. Are there any significant, unresolved complaints against applicant?  Yes _____  (Provide details)    No _____ 

6. Have you taken any disciplinary, administrative, or legal actions against applicant?   
Yes _____  (Provide details)   No _____ 

7. Are there any pending or contemplated disciplinary, administrative, or legal actions against applicant? 
Yes _____  (Provide details)    No _____ 

Name of person completing this form.   

Title  State  Date   

Telephone Number  Fax Number   

     

mailto:uccc@coag.gov
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